Buyer's guide

Best Golf Hitting Mats for Simulators (2026): Picks by Budget

The best golf hitting mats for home simulators in 2026: Cimarron, SIG Fairway Series, SwingTurf, SIGPRO Softy, Fiberbuilt and TrueStrike compared on size, real-tee use, warranty and dated prices.

By YardageBay Updated Prices checked Oct 10, 2026 3 min read Researched, not hands-on tested

We may earn a commission if you buy through some links, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change what we recommend. Disclosure

At a glance

Your mat is the part your wrists and elbows feel on every swing, so it's worth more than its price suggests. The Cimarron 4' x 6' Ultimate ($279 at Shop Indoor Golf, Oct 10, 2026) is the budget pick with three turf types. The SwingTurf (from $399 at Rain or Shine Golf) adds a softer surface and a 3-year warranty, and the Fiberbuilt Studio 7' x 4' ($1,249) is the premium pick with a 300,000-shot guarantee on its hitting panels.

Budget pick

Cimarron 4' x 6' Ultimate

$279Shop Indoor Golf, Oct 10, 2026

Best forBudget builds, different lies

View at Shop Indoor Golf
Best value warranty

SwingTurf

from $399Rain or Shine Golf, Oct 10, 2026

Best forChoice of sizes, long warranty

View at Rain or Shine
5x5 with real tee

SIG Fairway Series

$549.99Shop Indoor Golf, Oct 10, 2026

Best forCenter-hitting setups

View at Shop Indoor Golf
Joint-friendly

SIGPRO Softy 4' x 7'

$999.99Shop Indoor Golf, Oct 10, 2026

Best forSmaller rooms, easy on joints

View at Shop Indoor Golf
Hybrid feel

TrueStrike Single

$1,098Rain or Shine Golf, Oct 10, 2026

Best forPremium feel

View at Rain or Shine
Premium, long life

Fiberbuilt Studio 7' x 4'

$1,249Shop Indoor Golf, Oct 10, 2026

Best forDaily practice with a camera unit

View at Shop Indoor Golf

Compare at a glance

ProductBest forPrice (checked Oct 10, 2026)SizeReal tee / warrantyShop
Cimarron 4' x 6' UltimateBudget builds, different lies$279
Shop Indoor Golf
4' x 6'Real wooden tee; 1-yr defect warrantyView at Shop Indoor Golf
SwingTurfChoice of sizes, long warrantyfrom $399
Rain or Shine Golf
4' x 4' to 4' x 9'3-yr warrantyView at Rain or Shine
SIG Fairway SeriesCenter-hitting setups$549.99
Shop Indoor Golf
5' x 5'Takes a real teeView at Shop Indoor Golf
SIGPRO Softy 4' x 7'Smaller rooms, easy on joints$999.99
Shop Indoor Golf
4' x 7' x 2.5"Takes a real teeView at Shop Indoor Golf
TrueStrike SinglePremium feel$1,098
Rain or Shine Golf
Not listedWarranty via TrueStrikeView at Rain or Shine
Fiberbuilt Studio 7' x 4'Daily practice with a camera unit$1,249
Shop Indoor Golf
7' x 4'300,000-shot guaranteeView at Shop Indoor Golf

Prices from the retailer named, checked Oct 10, 2026; they change often.

Key facts

  • Shop Indoor Golf lists the Cimarron 4' x 6' Ultimate Golf Mat at $279 with three turf types and a one-year manufacturer defect warranty as of October 10, 2026. Source: Shop Indoor Golf
  • Rain or Shine Golf lists the SwingTurf mat from $399 (4' x 4') to $849 (4' x 9') with a 3-year warranty as of October 10, 2026. Source: Rain or Shine Golf
  • Fiberbuilt Grass hitting panels come with a 300,000-shot guarantee, per Shop Indoor Golf's listing for the 7' x 4' Studio mat ($1,249 as of October 10, 2026). Source: Shop Indoor Golf

Prices and specs checked October 10, 2026; confirm current figures with the source.

Cheap mats are where many home simulators cut corners, and where many golfers later wish they hadn’t. A hard mat can make fat shots feel fine (and your numbers misleading) and can be tough on joints over long sessions. Better mats cost more, but they last longer and give more honest feedback.

We compared six mats from specialist retailers, with prices checked October 10, 2026. We haven’t tested them; details come from the linked listings.

How to compare mats

Mat price (Oct 10, 2026)
Cimarron 4' x 6'$279SwingTurf 4' x 4'$399fromSIG Fairway Series$549.99SIGPRO Softy 4' x 7'$999.99TrueStrike Single$1,098Fiberbuilt Studio$1,249

Chart drawn by YardageBay from the prices cited on this page.

  • Size. 4’ x 4’ fits tight corners; 5’ x 5’ is a common center-hitting size; 4’ x 7’ to 4’ x 9’ gives room for a stance and a side-mounted launch monitor.
  • Hitting surface. Look for replaceable hitting strips or panels; that’s where wear concentrates.
  • Real-tee use. Some mats take a real tee, which matters for driver practice.
  • Launch monitor space. Camera units that sit beside the ball need a flat spot next to the hitting area.
  • Warranty. A long warranty or shot guarantee signals what the maker expects.

Cimarron 4’ x 6’ Ultimate — budget pick

Budget pick
$279at Shop Indoor Golf, checked Oct 10, 2026

Key specs

Size
4' x 6'
Surface
Tee turf, fairway turf, semi-rough
Warranty
1 year (defects)

Why it's on the list

  • Three turf types in one mat.
  • Takes a real wooden tee.

Watch-outs

  • Defect warranty only.

Skip it if: You want a soft, joint-friendly strip.

View at Shop Indoor GolfSources for these details are linked in this section and listed under Sources.

About $279 as of Oct 10, 2026 (list $339.99) at Shop Indoor Golf.

Three turf types in one mat — high-density tee turf, nylon fairway turf and semi-rough — plus a stance area, per the listing. It takes a real wooden tee for drives, rolls up for storage, works indoors or outdoors, and carries a one-year manufacturer defect warranty.

Best for: budget builds and golfers who want to practice different lies.

SIG Fairway Series — 5’ x 5’ with a real tee

5x5 with real tee
$549.99at Shop Indoor Golf, checked Oct 10, 2026

Key specs

Size
5' x 5', 41 lb
Surface
Tee-line turf on foam
Warranty
Not listed

Why it's on the list

  • Takes a real tee.
  • Made in Garland, Texas.

Watch-outs

  • Warranty not stated in the listing.

Skip it if: You want a longer stance area.

View at Shop Indoor GolfSources for these details are linked in this section and listed under Sources.

About $549.99 as of Oct 10, 2026 at Shop Indoor Golf.

A 5’ x 5’ mat covered in SIG tee-line turf on a soft foam backing, made in Garland, Texas, weighing 41 lb, per the listing. It takes a real tee. It’s also the base mat in Shop Indoor Golf’s Square Golf SIG10 package.

Best for: center-hitting setups and SIG10 package buyers.

SwingTurf — softer surface, long warranty

Best value warranty
from $399at Rain or Shine Golf, checked Oct 10, 2026

Key specs

Sizes
4x4, 5x5, 4x7, 4x9 ft
Backing
High-density foam
Warranty
3 years

Why it's on the list

  • 3-year warranty from the retailer.
  • Indoor and outdoor rated, per the listing.

Watch-outs

  • Larger sizes cost up to $849.

Skip it if: You need a separate launch-monitor panel.

View at Rain or ShineSources for these details are linked in this section and listed under Sources.

From $399 (4’ x 4’) to $849 (4’ x 9’) as of Oct 10, 2026 at Rain or Shine Golf.

Rain or Shine Golf’s in-house mat, sold in four sizes with the same fiber system and a high-density foam backing. The retailer says the softer surface reduces recoil and vibration compared with cheap mats, rates it for indoor and outdoor use, and backs it with a 3-year warranty.

Best for: buyers who want a choice of sizes and a long warranty.

SIGPRO Softy 4’ x 7’ — joint-friendly mid-range

Joint-friendly
$999.99at Shop Indoor Golf, checked Oct 10, 2026

Key specs

Size
4' x 7' x 2.5"
Strip
Replaceable 28" x 12" Softy
Warranty
Not listed

Why it's on the list

  • Replaceable soft-foam hitting strip.
  • Takes a real tee.

Watch-outs

  • Warranty not stated in the listing.

Skip it if: Budget is under $500.

View at Shop Indoor GolfSources for these details are linked in this section and listed under Sources.

About $999.99 as of Oct 10, 2026 at Shop Indoor Golf.

Uses a replaceable soft-foam Softy hitting strip (28” x 12”) on a thick foam backing, 4’ x 7’ x 2.5”, per the listing. Shop Indoor Golf positions it for smaller rooms and for golfers who want a mat that’s easy on the joints and takes a real tee.

Best for: smaller rooms and golfers who want a replaceable soft strip.

Fiberbuilt Studio 7’ x 4’ — premium, long-life panels

Premium, long life
$1,249at Shop Indoor Golf, checked Oct 10, 2026

Key specs

Size
7' x 4', single stance
Hitting panel
1' x 4', 4 tee holes
Guarantee
300,000 shots (panels)

Why it's on the list

  • 2-ft spacer panel for optical launch monitors.
  • 300,000-shot guarantee on hitting panels.

Watch-outs

  • Single-sided: choose right- or left-handed.

Skip it if: Lefties and righties share the bay.

View at Shop Indoor GolfSources for these details are linked in this section and listed under Sources.

About $1,249 as of Oct 10, 2026 (list $1,349) at Shop Indoor Golf.

A single-stance mat with a 1’ x 4’ hitting panel (four tee holes) and a 2-foot spacer panel that the listing calls ideal for optical launch monitors. Fiberbuilt Grass hitting panels carry a 300,000-shot guarantee, per Shop Indoor Golf. Single-sided, so choose right- or left-handed.

Best for: daily practice with a side-mounted camera launch monitor.

TrueStrike Single — hybrid turf-and-gel

Hybrid feel
$1,098at Rain or Shine Golf, checked Oct 10, 2026

Key specs

Construction
Hybrid turf-and-gel
Size
Not listed
Warranty
Through TrueStrike (length not listed)

Why it's on the list

  • Hybrid turf-and-gel construction absorbs impact, per the listing.

Watch-outs

  • Warranty length not stated.

Skip it if: You need warranty terms in writing first.

View at Rain or ShineSources for these details are linked in this section and listed under Sources.

About $1,098 as of Oct 10, 2026 at Rain or Shine Golf.

Rain or Shine Golf describes TrueStrike’s hybrid turf-and-gel construction as absorbing club impact. The warranty is through TrueStrike; the listing doesn’t state its length, so confirm before buying.

Best for: golfers who want a premium feel and can confirm warranty terms.

Matching the mat to your bay

Measure the hitting area inside your enclosure, then leave room for a side-mounted launch monitor if you use one. For a full setup, see our simulator packages guide and, for garages, our garage simulator guide.

Bottom line

On a budget, the Cimarron 4’ x 6’ gets you a real-tee mat for under $300. For the best balance of comfort and warranty, look at SwingTurf. If you’ll hit daily, the Fiberbuilt Studio is the long-life pick.

How to choose

  1. Pick a size for your stance and launch monitor: 5' x 5' is a common center-hitting size, per Rain or Shine Golf. Source: Rain or Shine Golf: SwingTurf
  2. Prefer a replaceable hitting strip or panel, like the SIGPRO Softy's 28" x 12" strip. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: SIGPRO Softy 4' x 7'
  3. Check real-tee use if you practice driver; the Fairway Series takes a real tee. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: Fairway Series
  4. Leave a flat spot for a camera unit; Fiberbuilt's Studio mat includes a 2-ft spacer panel. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: Fiberbuilt Studio
  5. Compare warranties: SwingTurf 3 years; Cimarron a 1-year defect warranty. Source: Rain or Shine Golf: SwingTurf

How we research this guide

We haven't hands-on tested these products. This guide is built from manufacturer specifications, owner's manuals and dated retailer listings, and every figure links to where we found it.

6sources cited
2separate websites
0owner's manuals
0official planning and support guides
6maker, retailer and other pages
Oct 10, 2026prices checked

FAQ

What is the best golf mat for a simulator?

It depends on budget. In our research the Cimarron 4' x 6' Ultimate ($279, Oct 10, 2026) is the budget pick, SwingTurf (from $399) adds a 3-year warranty, and the Fiberbuilt Studio 7' x 4' ($1,249) has a 300,000-shot guarantee on its hitting panels. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: Cimarron 4' x 6'

What size golf mat do I need for a simulator?

Common sizes are 4' x 4' to 4' x 9' and 5' x 5'. Rain or Shine Golf calls 5' x 5' the center-hitting standard and suggests 4' x 9' for taller players or wider stances. Source: Rain or Shine Golf: SwingTurf

Can you use a real tee on a golf simulator mat?

Some mats allow it. Shop Indoor Golf says the Fairway Series and SIGPRO Softy mats take a real tee, and that the Cimarron Ultimate allows a real wooden tee for drives. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: Fairway Series

Do I need a special mat for a camera launch monitor?

Leave room for the unit. Fiberbuilt's single-hitting Studio mat includes a 2-foot spacer panel that Shop Indoor Golf describes as ideal for optical launch monitors like Foresight and SkyTrak. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: Fiberbuilt Studio

What is the best budget golf simulator mat?

The Cimarron 4' x 6' Ultimate at $279 (Shop Indoor Golf, Oct 10, 2026), with three turf types and a real-tee option. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: Cimarron 4' x 6'

Which golf mat lasts longest?

Among our picks, Fiberbuilt hitting panels carry a 300,000-shot guarantee, per Shop Indoor Golf. Source: Shop Indoor Golf: Fiberbuilt Studio

Are golf mats bad for your joints?

Hard mats can be. Rain or Shine Golf says SwingTurf's softer surface reduces recoil and vibration compared with cheap mats, and Shop Indoor Golf markets the SIGPRO Softy as easy on the joints. Source: Rain or Shine Golf: SwingTurf

Sources

  1. Shop Indoor Golf (shopindoorgolf.com, accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  2. Shop Indoor Golf (shopindoorgolf.com, accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  3. Rain or Shine Golf (rainorshinegolf.com, accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  4. Shop Indoor Golf (shopindoorgolf.com, accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  5. Shop Indoor Golf (shopindoorgolf.com, accessed Oct 10, 2026)
  6. Rain or Shine Golf (rainorshinegolf.com, accessed Oct 10, 2026)

What changed: Oct 10, 2026: first published with prices checked at Rain or Shine Golf and Shop Indoor Golf.

About the author

YardageBay is the pen name of this site's editorial team. We research home golf simulators from manufacturer specs, owner's manuals and dated retailer prices, and we say so when we haven't tested something ourselves. More about YardageBay

Compare current prices on our golf simulator mats page.